Kraken for Maya 2017 (non-technical)

DraxisDraxis Posts: 7
edited May 24 in Kraken Rigging Framework

Greetings Fabric Engine Kraken team!

I am so excited about Kraken for Maya and Softimage! What an amazing creation!

I have managed to "Release the Kraken!" in Maya 2016 and 2017 & Kraken stand-alone. It seems to be working fine with a few hiccups here and there. I am not really a programmer, just an artist so please do excuse my lack of knowledge when it comes to coding.

Like sometimes i get these freezes where maya just freezes completely while using fabric/kraken.

here is my maya2017kraken.bat:

set FABRIC_PATH=C:\Ftool\FabricEngine-2.5.0-Windows-x86_64

set KRAKEN_PATH=C:\Ftool\FabricEngine-2.5.0-Windows-x86_64\Tools\Kraken

set KRAKEN_PATHS=C:\Ftool\FabricEngine-2.5.0-Windows-x86_64\Tools\Kraken\Python\kraken_components

set PATH=%FABRIC_PATH%\bin;%PATH%

set FABRIC_EXTS_PATH=%FABRIC_PATH%\Exts;%FABRIC_EXTS_PATH%;%KRAKEN_PATH%\KLExts;

set PYTHONPATH=%PYTHONPATH%;%FABRIC_PATH%\Python\2.7;%KRAKEN_PATH%\Python;

set MAYA_MODULE_PATH=%KRAKEN_PATH%\SpliceIntegrations\FabricSpliceMaya2017;%KRAKEN_PATH%\DCCIntegrations\maya;

start /d "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2017\bin" maya.exe

#

Also, i have Visual Studio 2015 with C++ running, and python 2.7 (x64-bit) is also running i also managed to install pyside & sphynx and other things with pip.

for QT, i downloaded and installed QT4.3 and set a path C:\Qt\qtcreator-4.3.0.

I am a bit confused about maya 2017 working with PySide2. I found a link in one of the discussions but it was broken

Sorry for the long post, I have been trying hard to Release the Kraken!

Any guidance would much appreciated.

Comments

• borjaborja Administrator, Fabric Employee Posts: 480 admin

Hi @Draxis

It is hard to tell what could be going on without more details. When you say maya freezes while using fabric/kraken it means you have the kraken editor open, or just playing in maya with the resulting rig?

Borja Morales