Tubular skinning

Hey everyone...

It's my first time showing anything in canvas - which is awesome by the way!

I've been trying to implement a skinning deformer using curves instead of traditional linear blend skinning. My background is rigging and animation and I'm constantly frustrated by how hard we have to work just to get an elbow or a finger to bend nicely!

Anyway, here's the first demo:
https://vimeo.com/156043934

Comments

• EricTEricT Administrator, Moderator, Fabric Employee Posts: 305 admin

Great stuff @duncanrudd!

Eric Thivierge
    Kraken Developer
    Kraken Rigging Framework

• AhmidouAhmidou Posts: 179 ✭✭

Indeed cool stuff!
    PS: The original idea is not from Raf Anzovin, but Sony Picture Imageworks, it's called Offset Curve Deformation.
    There's also an improved version done by Dreamworks.

Cheers

• Roy NieterauRoy Nieterau Posts: 258 ✭✭✭

Very nice! Good research!

• anhungxadieuanhungxadieu Posts: 108

well done, i also saw it before it's has been implemented in softimage ice with some custom c++ node by "Edy Susanto Lim", and he also do a fabice splice version. Hope to see more information about this tech in here very interesting.
    thank for sharing this
    es_OCD Demo 03
    es_OCD Demo 05 - Splice

Thụy Nguyễn
    CG Artist

Nice resources. This could actually be of use to me for an upcoming project.

Is this going to be shared?

• duncanruddduncanrudd Posts: 22

Hi guys, thanks for the encouragement!

@Ahmidou - Thanks for the info. Knowing what it's called should make researching a bit easier!
    @anhungxadieu - Great links. The second one really helps me figure out the next stages that I need to tackle.
    @Roy Nieterau - I'm guessing you mean Edy Susanto Lim's setup? Mine is far from production ready!

I'll try and post some updates in this thread soon.

Cheers