need help for setting enviroment and variables

hi there,
first i need to say i am an absolute beginner working with the terminal.
thats why i need a little hand for setting up the enviroment
for the fabric engine to work in modo.
i work on a win 10 system and the standalone fabric engine works fine.
also the modo kit is installed proberly, because i can see it in modo (version 0.900)
but i do not realy now how to set the enviroment right.
so maybe someone can help me setting things up or point me to a tutorial to try it by myself.

thanks everyone.

Comments

• malbrechtmalbrecht Fabric for Houdini Posts: 752 ✭✭✭

Moin, Toxic,

you don't need to use a terminal. Actually, according to release docs you should not really need to set up environment variables at all, as Borja said:

The Fabric environment variables are now automatically set if not present. (Source: http://forums.fabricengine.com/discussion/271/fabric-for-modo-beta-april-25-2016 )

But ... since you may want to have your own presets and extensions, I think it is a good idea to use ENV VARs anyway.

These steps should work:

• open a directory on the desktop
    • right click on "This PC", choose "Settings" (or Properties, I am on a German system here, it's the bottom most entry in the RMB menu)
    • click on "advanced settings" (left column, lowest entry in the upper list)
    • a window pops up, click on "Environment Variables" (right side of window, about vertically centered)
    • add a variable named FABRIC_DIR
    • in the "value" field, paste the copied complete path to where you unzipped the installation to. The directory you need to specify here is the one inside which all the magic is placed. On my system this value says D:\dev\Fabric\FabricEngine-2.2.0-dev-beta2.1-Windows-x86_64
    • this should be sufficient (don't forget to "OK" it), but you may want to add: