Request for a Tutorial on Blocks

PoobyPooby Posts: 122

Hi,

I'm excited to see Blocks added. I can comprehend that they are an important addition to Fabric.
However, if I am entirely honest, after watching and reading up on them, I still don't really have a clear idea what they are and how to use them.

It would be really great if someone could make an idiot-proof tutorial/ overview of making a tool and how the use of Blocks improve what was there before.

I'm sure I'm not the only one who would benefit from vicariously following the thought process of someone putting them into a graph to achieve something interesting.

thanks
Paul

I'm primarily trying to help the visual programming development, in my own small way, through providing feedback on Canvas.

Comments

• scaronscaron Fabric for Houdini Posts: 171

Hey Paul!

I agree, its a bit of an 'Inception' scenario. I am still learning it myself... I understand why to use it and when to but not confidently how to build up my own just yet. Fortunately there are preset nodes to at least get you past the issue with having to write code for some tasks. Does the Deform preset not help you make some progress? There are two, one already setup for a PolygonMesh and another which works for all Geometry types (lines/curves, points/particles). The difference is the PolygonMesh preset supports normals where the Geometry one just works with positions.