Cpp Extension questions

Hi folks

I have a few questions on the topic of programming cpp extension.

How to make it possible to use NOT simple types like Mat44, Quat and so on in cpp and kl files before compiling?
cpp code line:
Fabric::EDK::KL::Traits< Fabric::EDK::KL::VariableArray< Fabric::EDK::KL::Mat44 > >::INParam transform,

kl code line:

require Math;

function customTest(Mat44 transform[],

All attempts to load extension lead to error: "error:no extension or type named Math"

Let's say NO to Autodesk®Fabric®

Comments

• AlexanderMAlexanderM Posts: 132 ✭✭
    edited November 2016

I want to revive the topic and show the first test. This is my first attempt to port a cpp sources. It's the aaOcean plugin (author: Amaan Akram)

• craouettecraouette Posts: 113

Hi @AlexanderM,

Is it a port to kl of the plugin, or do you use the dynamic library?

Pierre

edited November 2016

Hi Pierre,
    I compiled dll. I like the automated approach with Scons and kl2edk

• borjaborja Administrator, Fabric Employee Posts: 467 admin

Very Nice @AlexanderM

What framerates are you getting?

Borja Morales
    Technical Product Manager
    Fabric Software Inc.

Hi Borja,
    At this time I get something about 7 fps. It's a bit slower than ICE version. But I made the rough implementation. Fabric creates and deletes a class in each frame. Instead, there needs simulation with the creation of a class only in the first frame and then change it.

By the way this is my second question, how to manage construct/destruct, not to recreate the class in every frame?

My first question still stands, I don't know how to load Vec2, Mat44 extensions to kl file involved in compilation, I have to create a similar structures.

It would be nice to have more example files

• malbrechtmalbrecht Fabric for Houdini Posts: 742 ✭✭✭

Hi, Alexander,

I am not sure I understand your first question, but on your second - if I understand that one correctly: