early feedback from a new user

Hi everyone! I've just started using Fabric this week... at my new job at Dwarf Animation Studio... after 9 years in the video game industry. Lots of new things!

I took a bunch of notes while reading through the docs and playing around with the samples, so I thought I'd share them here. Obviously I'm still a noob with Fabric so apologies if some things don't make much sense.

• Overall, coming from a background of C++ and C#, KL is pretty straight-forward.
    I'm actually surprised you don't mention C# anywhere in the docs, don't know if it influenced the design or not, but some concepts can be easily translated, eg struct vs object == struct vs class (or value-type vs reference-type), map-reduce looks like parallel Linq, etc.

• Can a struct/object have mutable members (that are allowed to be modified inside of const methods)?
    Since cached objects are immutable... I'm still struggling to wrap my head around cache nodes, for a gamedev having to either build or clone something on every update is heresy ;)

• Is there a way to get/set a variable node programmatically?

• namespaces?
  • Not having to bother with .h/.cpp is great, but I wish I could declare methods directly inside the struct definition itself, eg:
    struct Foo { function bar() { } };

• Not too sure I understand the difference between RTVal and the Object interface... except that structs can also be RTVal'd? Is wrapping a value in an RTVal similar to boxing in C#?

• Parallel Execution Statement:
    It is possible and even encouraged as a programming practice to make recursive PEXes.
    ... that sounds interesting! examples? Do you mean things like map-reduce?

UI woes

• I find the function editor very cumbersome!

• Having to go back and forth between function and canvas is painful, why isn't it in its own window?