PIC/FLIP Fluid Simulation in Fabric Engine (GridFluidSim3d)

AlexanderMAlexanderM Posts: 132 ✭✭

Hi folks,
I want to share my new experiment. It's not the complete tool, it's just the result of my "Fabric" + "Cpp" training.
I set a goal to study how much Fabric is ready for fluid simulation. In general, except for some shortcomings, it is quite ready.
At this moment I'm studying different solvers and libraries, and that is one of them.
I like this source code and this conceprtion, only water, with foam, bubbles and spray. But unfortunately it is not full multi-threaded, but uses OpenCL for some tasks. I will make update as soon as something changes in the source code. I share all sources with example scene.
Big thanks to Ryan Guy for sources https://github.com/rlguy/GridFluidSim3D , and he explained some of the issues, and made some fixes.
Also thanks to Oleg"Kaiser of CG"Bliznuk for consultation

upd: v.3 file is actual

Let's say NO to Autodesk®Fabric®

Comments

• scaronscaron Fabric for Houdini Posts: 171
  • malbrechtmalbrecht Fabric for Houdini Posts: 752 ✭✭✭

Moin,

that's looking quite good.

But unfortunately it is not full multi-threaded, but uses OpenCL for some tasks.

Well, OpenCL may be faster than multi-threading. But if you have got the opencl-code, you should be able to port it to KL and make it PEX. A grid-based simulation (my "simpleGas" is grid as well) should parallel nicely.

Marc

Marc Albrecht - marc-albrecht.de - does things.

• AlexanderMAlexanderM Posts: 132 ✭✭

Hi Marc,
    I just dont want to make changes to the original core code part. But I looked at the core code and found a few cycles, some of which can be done parallel, with "pragma omp" for example.
    But at the moment I am satisfied with the speed of this solver (I compare with other solvers, that I'm also testing) OpenCL significantly accelerates the computing, and this solver uses low of memory.